Development agreements signed between the federal government and a provincial government provide a 10-year formal framework for co-ordinated action aimed at exploiting the potential for socio-economic development, Specific development activities are carried out under subsidiary agreements. These have been signed with every province except Prince Edward Island, which has a comparable comprehensive development plan. The range of development activities includes forestry, agriculture, fisheries, transportation, tourism, industrial development, northlands, mineral development and planning.

The Regional Development Incentives Act (RDIA), passed in 1969 and now extended to 1981, provides grants to business and industry to establish, expand or modernize manufacturing and processing facilities in designated regions which cover all the Atlantic provinces, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and the Northwest

Territories, and parts of Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia.

Special rural development activities are carried out under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA). Programs to improve the economic circumstances of people of Indian ancestry are provided under a special ARDA program in some provinces. The department is also responsible for the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act (PFRA), designed to combat drought and soil drifting in the Prairies.

The minister of regional economic expansion reports to Parliament for the Cape Breton Development Corporation. He is advised by the Atlantic Development Council on policies and programs for future economic development and social adjustment in the Atlantic region, and by the Canadian Council on Rural Development, on rural development policy and programming. The department has headquarters in Ottawa, regional offices at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto and Saskatoon, a provincial office in each provincial capital and various branch offices.

Department of the Secretary of State of Canada. The duties, powers and functions of the secretary of state (RSC 1970, c.S-15) extend to and include all matters over which Parliament has jurisdiction not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the federal government relating to: citizenship; elections; state ceremonial, conduct of state correspondence and custody of state records and documents; encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

Responsibilities include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: cultural affairs including education support, research and liaison, Canada student loans, language programs, state protocol and special events, movable cultural property export control, grants, film festivals, certification of Canadian films, translation bureau; citizenship programs including citizenship registration, multiculturalism, native

citizens, women, citizenship participation, official language minority groups and human rights.

The secretary of state reports to Parliament for the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board, the Canadian Film Development Corporation, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Public Service Commission and acts as spokesman for the Office of the Representation Commissioner.

Department of the Solicitor General (Solicitor General Canada). Before 1936, the office of the solicitor general was either a Cabinet post or a ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the office being wholly absorbed by the attorney general of Canada. The Solicitor General Act of 1945 re-established the solicitor general as a Cabinet officer. In 1966 a new Department of the Solicitor General was created (RSC 1970, c.S-12); the solicitor general became the Cabinet minister with primary responsibility in the fields of correction and law enforcement. He is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Canadian Penitentiary Service and also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board, an independent agency.

Department of Supply and Services (Supply and Services Canada). This department was established on April 1, 1969 (RSC 1970, c.S-18) to furnish certain services previously provided by other departments, in line with recommendations of a royal commission on government organization (Glassco commission). The minister of supply and services is also the receiver general for Canada and exercises all the duties,

powers and functions assigned to that office by law.

The department is organized into two major administrations, each headed by a deputy minister. The supply administration acquires and provides goods and services required by federal government departments and agencies. It maintains federal government equipment and provides printing facilities. Since the 1973-74 fiscal year, the supply administration has been on a cost recovery basis for services rendered to its customers. The supply administration has 18 regional or district supply offices across Canada and an overseas supply office in London, England, and in Koblenz, Federal Republic of Germany. At various locations it provides purchasing and warehousing services and other services such as field contract administration, equipment maintenance, security, emergency supply planning, assets management and printing. With the disbanding of Information Canada in 1976, two functions, publishing and expositions, became the responsibility of the department. The supply administration is organized into commercial supply service, science and engineering procurement and corporate management service.

The services administration provides payment or cheque-issuing services for all federal departments, maintains the fiscal accounts of Canada and prepares the public accounts. It offers departments and